Getting to know xhtml and css again !

Last night I decided that I would learn how to create web pages again as it has been a long time since I did anything major with it all so I have forgotten half the stuff I need to know to make good accessible sites.

While I remember the basic fairly well I found that my knowledge on positioning was lacking. To me from quick skim reading of various sites all the types of positioning were effectively the same, I’m still not 100% sure about it but I am getting there.

Another thing I wanted to try was to have a rollover menu without using any horrible javascript (of which I am not a fan), I also didn’t want to use any tables as they are now mainly defunct. This turned out to be solved by using a list without a style, and floating the list images to the right of each other. Once I have it keyed down again I may do some more sites (and finish those I need to finish)

    • subpar0
    • March 16th, 2008

    http://css.maxdesign.com.au/listamatic/

    Excellent resource for those “non-javascript” rollover menus you were talking about. It’s done by applying “display:block” to anchor tags and using the “:hover” pseudo-selector.

    …and I disagree. Javascript is not “horrible”, it’s just not always necessary. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

